Our history

Central Gauteng Lions Cricket Board or Lions Cricket Union (previously known as Gauteng Cricket Board) is incorporated in terms of the Companies Act as a non-profit company (NPC) with Members in accordance with Schedule 1 of the Act and is a member of the Gauteng Cricket Council.

The Gauteng Cricket Board NPC trading as the Central Gauteng Lions, was formed in 1992 following the unity process in South African Cricket in June 1991. Although there was an official unification, cricket in the province remained divided.

In 2010 the Gauteng Cricket Board was placed under administration after the Langa Commission of Inquiry. The new Board and Memorandum of Incorporation currently speaks to three groupings from the constituencies (namely the Previously Advantaged Clubs, Concerned Cricket Fraternity and the Black African Cricket Clubs) and has been changed to align with that of Cricket South Africa.

In May 2018 the Gauteng Cricket Board underwent a total rebrand and was renamed as the Central Gauteng Lions, making use of a name that has a clear association with Johannesburg’s franchise team, the DP World Lions. The renaming process was a directive from the Department of Sport and Recreation following the National Sports Indaba where after SASCOC and Cricket South Africa, was tasked to ensure that all its affiliates align with the geopolitical demarcation of their provinces. One of the consequences was that the Gauteng Cricket Board had to change its name, as it does not represent the whole Gauteng Province. Central Gauteng Lions now three substructures, namely, Johannesburg Metro, Sedibeng and West Rand.

The organisation is administered by a Memorandum of Incorporation (MOI) duly adopted by the Members Council (or ‘Shareholders’). The MOI was adopted by Special Resolution passed on 9 May 2020, a copy of which was filed together with the notice of amendment.  MOI first adopted 27 March 2013. Amendment date 11 March 2020 . Amendment date 9 May 2020.

The Gauteng Cricket Board NPC (“Non-profit company”) means a company –

(a) Incorporated for a public benefit or other object as required by item 1(1) of Schedule 1 of the Act; and

(b) The income and property of which are not distributable to its incorporators, members, Directors, officers or persons related to any of them except to the extent permitted by item 1(3) of Schedule 1 of the Act;

In addition, the Laws of Cricket as recognized by the controlling body of the game of cricket in the Republic from time to time shall be adopted and followed by Lions Cricket Union, provided that, if such laws conflict at any time with the laws, by-laws or regulations of Lions Cricket Union, the laws, by-laws or regulations of Cricket South Africa (CSA) shall prevail.

Organisational Structure

The Central Gauteng Lions is one of 12 affiliates of Cricket South Africa.Cricket South Africa comprises of six franchises one of which is the DP World Lions.


CGL appoints first female president Anne Vilas.
2-CGL Women Senior Provincial Team members selected for various Momentum Proteas teams (Ayabonga Khaka and Kirstie Thompson).
4 CGL U19 team members selected for the SA Under 19 squad (Michael Copeland, Taheer Isaacs, Liam Alder and Samuel Ruwisi).
Ayabonga Khaka selected for the IPL Supernovas team.
Kirstie Thompson named Imperial CGL Women Player of the Season.
Shaylen Pillay named CGL Senior Men Provincial Player of the Season.
Involved in various social investment programmes – health, education and poverty alleviation.
Managed to retain and attract new sponsors. Imperial takes up naming rights for the CGL Senior Women Team.
Managed to retain and attract new sponsors. Imperial takes up naming rights for the CGL Senior Women Team.
Managed to retain and attract new sponsors. Imperial takes up naming rights for the CGL Senior Women Team.
Hosted a mooted 10th PinkDay on the 4th of April 2021 and raised over R450k.
Hosted a successful 947 Smile Foundation Cyclethon and raised over R400k.
Imperial Wanderers Stadium partner with the SolarSaver Group to bring much need solar power to South Africa’s most iconic venue.
CGL and its partners donate over R5 000 000l food parcels
CGL partners with POWA to #ENDFEMICIDENOW campaign.



Sisanda Magala wins the Betway T20 Challenge Cricketer of the Season
Rassie van der Dussen wins the One-Day International Cricketer of the Year
Wiaan Mulder wins the CSA Delivery of the Year (dismissal of Kusal Mendis, SA v SL, 2nd Test
Adrian Holdstock wins the CSA Umpire of the Year
Winner of the domestic Betway T20 2020/21 Competition.
Joint Momentum One Day Cup 2020/21 Winners.
Imperial Lions Captain Temba Bavuma named as the Proteas White Ball (ODI and T20I) Captain for 2021/22.
11-Imperial Lions players selected for various Proteas tours in 2020/2021 season.
Imperial Lions was awarded the Top 8 provincial cricket status for the season 2021/22 to 2022/23.
Sisanda Magala wins the Imperial Lions Player of the Season