STELLENBOSCH: The 15th edition of the Cricket South Africa (CSA) Cubs Week Cricket Tournament got underway today in a bio-secure environment (BSE) in Stellenbosch, with the exciting youth week scheduled to take place between 10 – 14 January.

The 2022 tournament features six newly named teams made up of provincial players who formed a large part of last month’s Khaya Majola Cricket Week and respective provincial youth weeks.

There will be five rounds of fixtures played, with all the action streamed live on the SuperSport Schools App and website, with live scorecards available on

In round one, the Eastern Warriors, (formerly known as the Warriors) go against the six-time winners, the Central Gladiators (Lions) at the Maties C field, while the Coastal Conquerers (Dolphins) take on the Western Legends (Knights) at the Coetzenburg Cricket Stadium.

Meanwhile, the defending champions Southern Superstars (Cape Cobras) kick off their week with a thrilling match-up against the Northern Champions (Titans) at Tassies Oval.

“Following a successful hosting of the annual CSA Youth Weeks in December, it is with great pleasure to see the Cubs Week, which is an important part of the Talent Acceleration Programme (TAP) and development pipeline, go ahead this year,” said CSA Head of Youth and Tertiary, Niels Momberg.

“This week is a culmination of an extensive youth cricket calendar and although this year, the SA under-19 side has been selected and are at the World Cup, the tournament will still be featuring some of the country’s best youngsters who are taking their final steps before entering the professional game,”

This year’s Cubs Week takes place shortly before the commencement of the 2022 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup hosted in the Caribbean between 14 January – 05 February, where South Africa under-19s will be chasing their second world junior title.

SA U19s Convenor of Selectors, Patrick Moroney said: “It is all a process of starting again and our focus is talent identification, in a sense of having a pecking order or ranking system of every discipline and players that we rank in certain areas.

“Beyond this, we now have that ranking system and then we move into the school environment, where we keep tabs on those players, looking at how they perform and who they are performing against.

“We have already done a lot of talent identification and now it is about placing the talent into a certain pecking order, to see who we will be working with in the future and who is on call for national duties that might arrive,” Moroney added. 



Central Gladiators vs Eastern Warriors – Maties C

Coastal Conquerers vs Western Legends – Coetzenburg

Northern Champions vs Southern Superstars – Tassies Oval


Central Gladiators vs Coastal Conquerers – Tassies Oval

Southern Superstars vs Western Legends – Maties D

Northern Champions vs Eastern Warriors – Coetzenburg


Central Gladiators vs Western Legends – Coetzenburg

Southern Superstars vs Eastern Warriors – Tassies Oval

Northern Champions vs Coastal Conquerers – Maties D


Central Gladiators vs Northern Campions – Coetzenburg

Southern Superstars vs Coastal Conquerers – Tassies Oval

Western Legends vs Eastern Warriors – Maties C / D


Central Gladiators vs Southern Superstars – Coetzenburg

Northern Champions vs Western Legends – Maties C / D

Coastal Conquerers vs Eastern Warriors – Tassies Oval



Nkanyiso Mkhize, Dean Bacher, Christopher King, Reuben du Toit, Zack Momberg, Simo Potelwa, Talha Chavoos, Billy van Zyl, Kyle Glennistor, Ravat Yusuf, Tshepo Stafa, Greg Ford, Richard Seletswane


Banele Cele, Alexander Vermeulen, Romashen Pillay, Jake Carstens, Thabiso Ndlela, Chad Laycock, Nathan Ngugi, Makabongwe Ngcobo, Oyama Ntshona, Nathan Trevethan, Bonga Shezi, Ntando Zuma, Slade van Staden


Siphamandla Bashe, Daniel Ristow, Butsha Mfazwe, Cameron Williams, Ben van der Merwe, Russel Peterson, Casey Keevy, Cormey van der Watt, Ian Baard, Eathan Frosler, Akhona Ratyana, Bune Hlonela, Olwakhe Goqoza


Nathan Steyn, Amaan Khan, Christiaan Daniels, Sinethemba Ngeyane, Letsholo Selemela, Schalk Engelbrecht, William Tshoke, Arnaud du Plessis, Shelton Ngobeni, Modise Maloka, Christiaan du Toit, Khaif Patel, Dewan Marais


Nathan Jacobs, Abdullah Bayoumy, Meeka-eel Prince, Jesse Prodehl, Abel Mokwena, Basil George, Liyema Waqu, Bongile Mfunelwa, Gysbert Wege, Tyler Williams, Juan James, Maahir Josesph, Cameron Fraser


Mvula Chabalala, Hanro Swanepoel, Matthew Davids, Corne Prinsloo, Jayden Davids, Bathabile Masigo, Mboniseni Mhlanga, Tshireletso Tikoe, Stefan Nel, Rico Fryer, Sello Sessing, JP King, Joe Meyer,