STELLENBOSCH: The Western Legends managed to bag a one-wicket victory over the Coastal Conquerers to open their Cricket South Africa (CSA) Cubs Week campaign in Stellenbosch on Monday.

It was a tense finish as Rico Fryer (33) and Jayden Davids (23*) shared a 40-run partnership for the eighth wicket. Davids also shared a 35-run stand for the ninth wicket with Mvula Chabalala (16) to get the Legends close to victory.

In the end, they reached the target with two overs to spare. Chabalala (5/35) was also the hero with ball in hand as he picked up a five-wicket haul. The Conquerers were restricted to 201 with Adrian Fischer (95*) running out of partners before he could reach his century.

Fischer grabbed his opportunity with both hands as he wasn’t initially picked for the tournament. He replaced Slade van Staden who had to withdraw shortly before the teams arrived in Stellenbosch. The opening batsman, Fischer, faced 130 deliveries in his innings of which he struck eight fours.

The defending champions, the Southern Superstars (formerly Cape Cobras), were in a devastating mood in their opening match against the Northern Champions.

The Superstars bundled the Champions out for a mere 96 runs. Abdullah Bayoumy (3/13), Jesse Prodehl (2/12), and Tyler Williams (2/14) caused the most damage with the ball.

The only batsman of the Champions that managed to keep the Superstars bowlers out was, Christiaan du Toit (31). The Superstars managed to get past the target with seven wickets in hand with Meeka-eel Prince (33) laying the foundation.

The Eastern Warriors’ Casey Keevy (69*) and Ethan Frosler (40*) shared an unbeaten 101-run partnership for the fourth wicket as their team eased past the Central Gladiators by seven wickets.

The Warriors are selected from players from Eastern Province and Border. They have made a huge statement with this victory to open their campaign at the Cubs Week.

Esa Gangat (4/32) and Bune Hlonela (3/8) caused most of the damage with the ball as the Central Gladiators only managed 139 before being bowled out.

The action continues on Day 2 on Tuesday, 11 January, with all the action streamed live on the SuperSport Schools App and website, with live scorecards available on


Western Legends beat Coastal Conquerers by one wicket.

Coastal Conquerers: 201 / 10 (A. Fisher 95*, R. Pillay 25; M. Chabalala 5 / 35, C. Prinsloo 2 / 51)

Western Legends: 202 / 9 (JP King 58, R. Fryer 33; J. Carstens 2 / 35, B. Shezi 2 / 36)

Southern Superstars beat Northern Champions by seven wickets

Northern Champions: 96 (C. du Toit 31; A. Bayoumy 3 / 13, J. Prodehl 2 / 1)

Southern Superstars: 97 / 3 (M. Prince 33; N. Steyn 1 / 17)

Eastern Cape Warriors won by seven wickets.

Central Gladiators: 139 (R. Yusuf 31, B. van Zyl 35, E. Gangat 4 / 32, B. Hlonela 3 / 8)

Eastern Cape Warriors: 140 / 3 (C. Keevy 69*, E. Frosler 40*, G. Ford 2 / 37)



Central Gladiators vs Coastal Conquerers – Tassies Oval

Southern Superstars vs Western Legends – Maties D

Northern Champions vs Eastern Warriors – Coetzenburg


Central Gladiators vs Western Legends – Coetzenburg

Southern Superstars vs Eastern Warriors – Tassies Oval

Northern Champions vs Coastal Conquerers – Maties D


Central Gladiators vs Northern Campions – Coetzenburg

Southern Superstars vs Coastal Conquerers – Tassies Oval

Western Legends vs Eastern Warriors – Maties C / D


Central Gladiators vs Southern Superstars – Coetzenburg

Northern Champions vs Western Legends – Maties C / D

Coastal Conquerers vs Eastern Warriors – Tassies Oval



Nkanyiso Mkhize, Dean Bacher, Christopher King, Reuben du Toit, Zack Momberg, Simo Potelwa, Talha Chavoos, Billy van Zyl, Kyle Glennistor, Ravat Yusuf, Tshepo Stafa, Greg Ford, Richard Seletswane


Banele Cele, Alexander Vermeulen, Romashen Pillay, Jake Carstens, Thabiso Ndlela, Chad Laycock, Nathan Ngugi, Makabongwe Ngcobo, Oyama Ntshona, Nathan Trevethan, Bonga Shezi, Ntando Zuma, Slade van Staden


Siphamandla Bashe, Daniel Ristow, Butsha Mfazwe, Cameron Williams, Ben van der Merwe, Russel Peterson, Casey Keevy, Cormey van der Watt, Ian Baard, Eathan Frosler, Akhona Ratyana, Bune Hlonela, Olwakhe Goqoza


Nathan Steyn, Amaan Khan, Christiaan Daniels, Sinethemba Ngeyane, Letsholo Selemela, Schalk Engelbrecht, William Tshoke, Arnaud du Plessis, Shelton Ngobeni, Modise Maloka, Christiaan du Toit, Khaif Patel, Dewan Marais


Nathan Jacobs, Abdullah Bayoumy, Meeka-eel Prince, Jesse Prodehl, Abel Mokwena, Basil George, Liyema Waqu, Bongile Mfunelwa, Gysbert Wege, Tyler Williams, Juan James, Maahir Josesph, Cameron Fraser


Mvula Chabalala, Hanro Swanepoel, Matthew Davids, Corne Prinsloo, Jayden Davids, Bathabile Masigo, Mboniseni Mhlanga, Tshireletso Tikoe, Stefan Nel, Rico Fryer, Sello Sessing, JP King, Joe Meyer