JOHANNESBURG: The race for a spot in the CSA One-Day Cup final is on as the pool matches conclude this Sunday. With most teams having only one match remaining, the upcoming matches promise to offer more thrilling action.

In the two Division One matches on Wednesday, the ITEC Knights and Momentum Multiply Titans claimed victory over the Gbets Warriors and North West Dragons, respectively.

The Gbets Warriors were put to the bat first by the ITEC Knights at St George’s Park.

A Jon-Jon Smuts century (135), carried the Warrior’s innings to a defendable total of 264 runs. The only support for Smuts was 35 runs from Tristan Stubbs and 32 runs from Wihan Lubbe.

Alfred Mothoa was the pick of the bowlers, claiming four wickets in the innings, supported by three wickets from Migael Pretorius.

Stubbs and Rudi Second (18), were both caught behind by keeper, Mangaliso Mosehle, off Mothoa.

Mothoa went on two claim two wickets in the final over, dismissing Mthiwekhaya Nabe and Dane Paterson with three runs. Sinethemba Qeshile was also run-out by the bowler without any runs.

Pretorius trapped opener, Matthew Breetzke lbw with four runs, Lubbe was caught by Mothoa and Lesiba Ngoepe (26), caught by Raynard Van Tonder off Pretorius deliveries.

Mbulelo Budaza claimed the sole wicket of Smuts as the Warriors ended their innings on 264/9.

The Knights raced to the target in less than 40 overs after half centuries from Jacques Snyman (56), Raynard Van Tonder (66*), and Rilee Rossouw (73).

The visitors had only lost the three wickets of Matthew Kleinveldt (29), Snyman, and Rossouw.

Van Tonder and Pite van Biljon (30*) wrapped up the innings in the 40th over, with the Knights on 266/3, winning the game by seven wickets.

Meanwhile, the Momentum Multiply Titans secured a comfortable 200-run victory against the North West Dragons in Pretoria.

After opting to bat first, the Titans went on to set the highest target in the tournament thus far, 453 runs at the loss of only three wickets.

The target was powered by two centuries, a career best from Theunis de Bruyn (179) and an unbeaten 115* from Neil Brand.

Gihahn Cloete (58), and Sibonelo Makhanya (53*) half centuries also fuelled the Titan’s surge to the highest score ever in the history of the tournament.

Dragons’ captain, Nono Pongolo claimed two wickets, after breaking a 155-run opening partnership to dismiss Cloete, Pongolo dismissed Heinrich Klaasen before he could cause any further damage with 37 runs.

Duan Jansen dismissed de Bruyn just as the home-side reached the 300-run mark, as Brand and Makhanya took the innings to 453/3.

In response, the Dragons were all out with 253 runs in 42 overs.

The opening 70-run stand between Wesley Marshall (50) and Heino Kuhn (35) looked promising, before Kuhn was run-out by Donovan Ferreira. Marshall was dismissed by Samuel Ruwisi, a few deliveries later after reaching his second half century of the tournament. Ruwisi also dismissed Lesego Senokwane with just two runs.

Shaylen Pillay’s unbeaten 79* runs were the only solid anchor in the innings with the collapsing Dragons line-up.

Brand (3/31), dismissed Pongolo (24), Caleb Seleka (0), and Lwandiswa Zuma (1).

Ayabulela Gqamane and Ruwisi claimed two wickets each, with Gqamane dismissing Khanya Cotani (6), and Duan Jansen (0).

Aaron Phangiso caught and bowled Senuran Muthusamy with six runs while Delano Potgieter (29), was run-out by another Ferreira hit.


  • Northern Cape Heat vs Eastern Cape Iinyathi
  • Eastern Cape Iinyathi: 242/7 – (M. Marais (65), N. Yikha (41) / E. Jones 3/52).
  • Northern Cape Heat: 247/8 – (B. Swanepoel (52*), A. Swanepoel (40) / J. de Klerk 3/38, S. Ntuntwana 2/20).


  • Mpumalanga Rhinos vs Six Gun Grill SWD
  • Mpumalanga Rhinos: 192/10 – (B. van Niekerk (62), B. Xenxe (31) / R. Meyer 3/32, P. Moletsane 3/35)
  • Six Gun Grill SWD: 198/5 – (H. Kotze (54*), J. van Briesies (47) / G. Adams 2/44)




Division One:

13H00: Six Gun Grill Western Province vs Gbets Rocks (Six Gun Grill Newlands, Cape Town).

13H00: Imperial Lions vs Momentum Multiply Titans (Imperial Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg).

Division Two:

09H30: Hollywoodbets Tuskers vs Mpumalanga Rhinos (Pietermaritzburg Oval, Pietermaritzburg).

10H00: Limpopo Impalas vs Eastern Storm (Polokwane Cricket Club, Polokwane).