PRETORIA: TheCricket South Africa (CSA) T20 Community Cup 2021/22 continues in Sinovich Park, Laudium, TUT, and Mandela Ovals.

GM Old Edwardians CC (Lions Cricket), Clares CC (KZN Coastal), Burma Lads CC (Northern Cape), Irene Villagers CC (Titans Cricket), Western Province CC (Western Province), and SA Rural (Invitational Team) are all participants in this year’s edition.

Old Edwardians continued their winning streak in the tournament, winning both games on Saturday. The Johannesburg-based side now seats on top of the log as the only undefeated team after four matches.

Irene Villagers made a huge comeback after their not-so-great performance on Friday. The Villagers however secured two bonus point victories against the SA Rural Team and Burma Lads.

On the other side, the Western Province CC suffered their first defeat when the Old Edwardians restricted them to 95 runs all out on Saturday morning.

The SA Rural team will be looking for their first victory when they take on Clares CC in the last round of the Community Cup tournament on Sunday.


Morning Matches

IRENE VILLAGERS won the toss and elected to bat

IRENE VILLAGERS 123/6 (20 Overs): J Porter 36, D Liebenberg 29* / T Majeba 3/32, A Tisani 2/22.

SA RURAL 90/8 (20 Overs): L Mzamo 23, Z Zafdar 3/6, L Trueman 2/10.

IRENE VILLAGERS won by 33 runs

Man of the match –Zakir Zafdar

CLARES CC won the toss and elected to field

BURMA LADS 121/6 (20 Overs): Z Swartz 43, A Swanepoel 21 / T Ntini 2/15V Gobind 2/29.

CLARES CC 113/9 (20 Overs): J Smit 35, A Maharaj 28 / R Baardt 3/19, N Plaatjies 2/25.

BURMA LADS won by 8 runs

Man of the match – Richard Baardt

GM OLD EDWARDIANS won the toss and elected to field

WESTERN PROVINCE 92 (19.4 Overs): N Barlow 30, C Brunner 3/14A Gladile 2/9, M Van Buuren 2/14.

GM OLD EDWARDIANS 93/4 (16.5 Overs): M Van Buuren 29, K Simmonds 3/14

GM OLD ELDAWARDIANS won by 6 wickets

Man of the match – Cameron Brunner

Afternoon Matches

IRENE VILLAGERS CC won the toss and elected to bat

IRENE VILLAGERS CC 181/5 (20 Overs): Z Venter 23, B Joynt 72, J Porter 31 / W Du Plessis 2/14.

BURMA LADS CC 84/10 (19.2 Overs): N Plaatjies 24, J Mostert 5/8

IRENE VILLAGERS CC won by 97 Runs.

Man of the Match – Jaco Mostert

CLARES CC won the toss and elected to bat

CLARES CC 150/5 (20 Overs): T Trenoworth 37, J Smit 44 / J Behrens 2/29, G Christian 2/13.

WESTERN PROVINCE CC 152/3 (18 Overs): J Crowson 92, G Christians 22.

WESTERN PROVINCE CC won by 7 wickets.

Man of the Match – James Crowson

SA RURAL won the toss and elected to bat

SA RURAL 106/10 (19,5 Overs): K Pretorius 52, C Brunner 2/17, R Metzer 2/16, G Herte 2/23.

GM OLD EDWARDIANS CC 107/2 (14 Overs): M Workman 33, J Lang 44*.

GM OLD EDWARDIANS CC won by 8 wickets.

Man of the Match – Josh Lang


GM Old Edwardians CC (Lions Cricket): Callum Broodryk, Cameron Brunner, Andile Gladile, Gareth Harte, Calvin Johnson, Joshua Lang, Obakeng Maila, Reade Metzer, Lhaundre Pretorius, Muzzi Sheik, Luxolo Tsewu, Mitchell Van Buuren, Murray Workman.

Brandon Buckley (Coach), Arnold Ndindwa (Manager).

Clares CC (KZN Coastal): Tylor Trenoworth, John Riekert, Mike Alexander, Bruce Kerr, Jason Wagner, Aatish Maharaj, Abdul Haq Razak, Jesse Smit, Thando Ntini, Kerwin Mungroo, Vyash Gobind, Semel Pillay, Jawaad Aziz.

Fabian Lazarus (Coach), Bharath Maharaj (Manager).

Burma Lads CC (Northern Cape): Aidan Brooker, Nathan Plaatjies, Aubrey Swanepoel, Reuben Visagie, Chesley Barnes, Tristan Traugott, Mi-Chaelle Robinson, Wiehan Du Plessis, Zandre Swartz, Richard Baardt, Ethene Kruger, Werner Schimper, Naziel Adams

Heinrich Stride (Coach), Donavan Pillay (Manager).

Irene Villagers CC (Titans Cricket): Zendon Verster, Robert Farina, Junior Dala, Lance Trueman, Tema Mpete, Wayde Damon, Sibusiso Maseko, Bradley Joynt, Dian Liebenberg, Jacques Porter, Zakir Zafdar, Ryan Herselman, Jaco Moster.

Byron Fraser (Coach), Douglas Yates (Manager).

Western Province CC (Western Province): Derek Mitchell, James Crowson, Givon Christian, Nic Barlow, Dan Da Costa, Junaid Allie, Justin Behrens, Alex Draai, Kyle Simmonds, Luke Petersen, Siya Plaatjie, Bailey Aarons, Shawn Dyson.

Laurie Ward (Coach), Curtis Fourie (Manager).

SA Rural Team: Nathan Engelbrecht, Grant Essau, Levin Muller, Loyiso Mzaso, Sias Willemse, Andrew Louw, Francois Van Rooyen, Aviwe Tisane, Thandeni Majeba, Sivedh Ramprith, Kevin Pretorius, Basil Jr George, Ridewan Mlongo, Ettienne Bezuidenhout.

Lwando Lwana (Coach), Christo Gous (Manager)