PRETORIA: TheCricket South Africa (CSA) T20 Community Cup 2021/22 concluded on Sunday, 24 April 2022 at three community fields in Pretoria.

GM Old Edwardians CC claimed the title as the only unbeaten side after a four-wicket victory over Irene Villagers CC in the final round.

The Old Edwardians were the favourites as they went into the final with a four-point lead over tournament runners up.

Western Province CC were the runners up, with only one defeat, and four points behind the winners.

Nathan Engelbrecht from the SA Rural side walked away as batter of the tournament and Justin Behrens from Western Province CC scooped the bowler of the tournament award.

Jesse Smit was named Player of the Tournament after an all-round performance for Clares CC.

CSA Senior Cricket Manager, Johan Weyers, said; “It is a great honour to be able host a successful Community Cup after the last edition was rained out and the last two years were disrupted by the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Congratulations to the GM Old Edwardians on being crowned the 2021/22 CSA champions. This is a huge achievement as this makes them the number one community-based cricket club in the country.

“Well done to all the participating teams on winning in their respective regions and making it to the final stage of the competition, the CSA T20 Community Cup.

“I would also like to thank the Titans Cricket, players and officials and all CSA affiliates and staff who have made this tournament a success,” concluded Weyers.


BURMA LADS CC won the toss and elected to field

WESTERN PROVINCE 143/5 (20 Overs): D Da Costa 45*G Christian 31D Mitchell 27 /M Robinson 3/18

BURMA LADS CC 127/6 (20 Overs): Z Swardt 41N Adams 27*/S Plaatjie 2/22, G Christian 2/21

WESTERN PROVINCE CC won by 25 runs

Man of the match – Dan Da Costa

SA RURAL won the toss and elected to bowl

CLARES CC 156/6 (20 Overs): B Kerr 62J Aziz 28*F Van Rooyen 3/24

SA RURAL 115/7 (20 Overs):  K Pretorius 43N Engelbrecht 38 /A Razak 22/2J Smit 2/24

CLARES CC won by 41 runs

Man of the match – Bruce Kerr

IRENE VILLAGERS won the toss and elected to bat

IRENE VILLAGERS 137/6 (20 Overs): R Farina 44*, J Dala 24 * / G Harte 2/25L Tsewu 2/30.

GM OLD EDWARDIANS CC 138/6 (18.4 Overs): J Lang 42, C Johnson 29* / Z Zafdar 2/21.

GM OLD EDWARDIANS won by 4 wickets

Man of the match – Joshua Lang

Player Stats and the Community Cup Log are attached. All matches are available on PitchVision.


GM Old Edwardians CC (Lions Cricket): Callum Broodryk, Cameron Brunner, Andile Gladile, Gareth Harte, Calvin Johnson, Joshua Lang, Obakeng Maila, Reade Metzer, Lhaundre Pretorius, Muzzi Sheik, Luxolo Tsewu, Mitchell Van Buuren, Murray Workman.

Brandon Buckley (Coach), Arnold Ndindwa (Manager).

Clares CC (KZN Coastal): Tylor Trenoworth, John Riekert, Mike Alexander, Bruce Kerr, Jason Wagner, Aatish Maharaj, Abdul Haq Razak, Jesse Smit, Thando Ntini, Kerwin Mungroo, Vyash Gobind, Semel Pillay, Jawaad Aziz.

Fabian Lazarus (Coach), Bharath Maharaj (Manager).

Burma Lads CC (Northern Cape): Aidan Brooker, Nathan Plaatjies, Aubrey Swanepoel, Reuben Visagie, Chesley Barnes, Tristan Traugott, Mi-Chaelle Robinson, Wiehan Du Plessis, Zandre Swartz, Richard Baardt, Ethene Kruger, Werner Schimper, Naziel Adams

Heinrich Stride (Coach), Donavan Pillay (Manager).

Irene Villagers CC (Titans Cricket): Zendon Verster, Robert Farina, Junior Dala, Lance Trueman, Tema Mpete, Wayde Damon, Sibusiso Maseko, Bradley Joynt, Dian Liebenberg, Jacques Porter, Zakir Zafdar, Ryan Herselman, Jaco Moster.

Byron Fraser (Coach), Douglas Yates (Manager).

Western Province CC (Western Province): Derek Mitchell, James Crowson, Givon Christian, Nic Barlow, Dan Da Costa, Junaid Allie, Justin Behrens, Alex Draai, Kyle Simmonds, Luke Petersen, Siya Plaatjie, Bailey Aarons, Shawn Dyson.

Laurie Ward (Coach), Curtis Fourie (Manager).

SA Rural Team: Nathan Engelbrecht, Grant Essau, Levin Muller, Loyiso Mzaso, Sias Willemse, Andrew Louw, Francois Van Rooyen, Aviwe Tisane, Thandeni Majeba, Sivedh Ramprith, Kevin Pretorius, Basil Jr George, Ridewan Mlongo, Ettienne Bezuidenhout.

Lwando Lwana (Coach), Christo Gous (Manager).