Johannesburg – The Pride of Jozi has announced their men’s and women’s squads for the upcoming season. True to the “Lions Way”, the squads comprise of an abundance of talent on a platform of promise: Promise to perform on field and off.

Imperial Lions Men’s Head Coach Wandile Gwavu reflected on a fantastic last season stating that it was a privilege to see the growth and character of the team come through daily;

“Firstly, I’d like to thank the players who were part of our squad last season: Tshepo Ntuli and Ruan Haasbroek, I wish you all the best in the next season with your new teams. Looking at the two signings we’ve made, I’m happy that we’ve managed to get the experienced and destructive batter in Cameron Delport and know that he will add immense value in our line up and our changeroom. We also welcome the young allrounder in Evan Jones who had a good last season and through the potential he has shown with both bat and ball I know he will do well for our team and I’m excited to have him in our squad. I am further pleased that we managed to retain the remainder of our squad and am looking forward to an exciting and successful season with our team.”

Imperial Lions Women’s Head Coach Shaun Pretorious said of the past season;

“The Imperial Lions players grew tremendously in terms of playing positive and attacking cricket: I’m proud of the team. As a union we are thrilled that our Momentum Proteas players namely Ayabonga, Tumi and Raisibe have stayed with the Union and we are looking forward to them sharing their expertise with our younger players. Lehlohonolo, Refilwe, Kgomotso, Sarah, Palesa, Jenna, Oluhle and Louise are all still young players to keep an eye out for. The experience of Jameelah, Yolani, Kirstie, Sharne and Nonkululeko will add some well needed value to our plans for the upcoming season. One new addition to the squad is Diara Ramlakan, a 15-year-old middle order batter.”

Imperial Lions Men’s: Temba Bavuma; Kagiso Rabada; Reeza Hendricks; Rassie van der Dussen; Wiaan Mulder; Bjorn Fortuin; Dominic Hendricks; Sisanda Magala; Malusi Siboto; Ryan Rickelton; Lutho Sipamla; Duanne Olivier; Kagiso Rapulana; Joshua Richards; Mitch van Buuren; Codi Yusuf; Levert Manje; Tladi Bokako; Cameron Delport and Evan Jones.

Imperial Lions Women’s: Yolani Fourie; Ayabonga Khaka; Tumi Sekhukhune; Raisibe Ntozakhe; Jameelah Shaikjee; Palesa Mapoo; Kgomotso Rapoo; Lehlohonolo Sardick; Sarah Nettleton; Nonkululeko Thabethe; Kirstie Thomson; Louise Kemp; Sharne Mayers; Jenna Evans; Oluhle Siyo; Refilwe Moncho; Paballo Tshidi; Traci Brest; Diara Ramlakan; Keneuoe Makhakhe; Karabo Meso and Samantha Schutte.

Lions Cricket is looking forward to an exciting season ahead and creating more special moments for our partners, fans and the Lions cricket loving community. Let the Lion ROAR!!

@LionsCricketSA #LionsCricket #ThePrideOfJoziOfJozi #Equality4All


For any media related queries, please contact Wanele Mngomezulu, Lions Cricket, Marketing & Communications Manager on +27 63 940 8841 or  Visit us on or follow us on our official twitter handle @LionsCricNews and Facebook page Lions Cricket and #theprideofjozi


LIONS CRICKET (Central Gauteng Lions) is the custodian of all cricket activities in the greater Sedibeng, West Rand, Vaal, and Johannesburg area and manages the Imperial Wanderers Stadium and Imperial Lions.