Johannesburg – The inaugural Betway SA20 League starts tomorrow, Tuesday 10 January 2023 with the carnival of cricket kicking off in Cape Town. A total of 33 matches; 102 local and international players spanning 6 global franchises at 6 iconic South African stadiums is certainly the place to be over the next month. Lions Cricket will be hosting five Joburg Super Kings home matches as well as the semi-final and final of this unique tournament. 

12 DP World Lions players are set to hit the eXXplosive new T20 cricket league, an accomplishment which speaks to the strength of the Lions Cricket Union, so says Lions Cricket CEO Jono Leaf-Wright;

“We’re exceptionally proud of our pride members – spread across all 6 franchises. Lions Cricket is excited to see our players continue their rich vein of form following their CSA One Day Cup competition victory on 29 December 2022. In addition to the 12 players, we have three management coaches in Wandile Gwavu, Nandile Tayli and Prasana Agoram, ready to #WhistleForJoburg at the Joburg Super Kings as they take up key roles on Stephen Flemings coaching staff. On the eve of the competition commencing, our players are ready; our stadium pitch is perfect and our fans can feast their eye’s on the world’s best: It will be our honour to host all from far and wide!” 

The first ball will be bowled at 17h30 on 10 January, at Newlands Cricket Ground. The MI Cape Town team features three DP World Lions superstars in Rassie van der Dussen; Ryan Rickelton and leading 2022 Test wicket-taker Kagiso Rabada – all of whom will be up against the star-studded Paarl Royals inclusive of #ThePrideOfJozi players Mitchell van Buuren; Bjorn Fortuin; Codi Yusuf and Evan Jones.

Captained by Faf du Plessis, the Joburg Super Kings campaign kicks off the following day against the Durban Super Giants. A match that will see DP World Lions players Malusi Siboto and Reeza Hendricks face 24 year old all-rounder and fellow Lion, Wiaan Mulder amongst others. 

Joburg’s pride is then represented further when on 12 January, the Sunrisers Eastern Cape’s hard-hitting and wicket-taking Sisanda Magala, will go head to head with Cameron Delport of Pretoria Capitals. 

Coming off the back of their third consecutive #1DayCup title, the DP World Lions players will be in form, confident and each individual as determined as the other to add yet another trophy to their name. 

“We are in for a smashing month ahead as South Africa cheers for their favourite team,” smiles Leaf-Wright. “We want our iconic stadium filled to the max, so come whistle for Joburg and support our home team: Joburg Super Kings. Our DP World Lions players participating in all teams across the competition would also really appreciate the support of our much-valued fans – so come enjoy the #SA20 – it’s going to be eXXtraordinary and eXXciting, guaranteed.” 

The competition runs from 10 January – 11 February 2023. For fixture and ticketing information please visit:  and

DP World Lions players participating in the Betway SA20 League:

Joburg Super Kings: Malusi Siboto; Reeza Hendricks

MI Cape Town: Rassie van der Dussen; Ryan Rickelton; Kagiso Rabada

Durban’s Super Giants: Wiaan Mulder

Sunrisers Eastern Cape: Sisanda Magala

Pretoria Capitals: Cameron Delport

Paarl Royals: Mitchell van Buuren; Bjorn Fortuin; Codi Yusuf; Evan Jones

— ENDS —


LIONS CRICKET (Central Gauteng Lions) is the custodian of all cricket activities in the greater Sedibeng, West Rand, Vaal, and Johannesburg area and manages the DP World Wanderers Stadium and DP World Lions. @LionsCricketSA #LionsCricket #ThePrideOfJozi #Equality4All


SA20 is the Premier South African T20 Cricket League featuring six teams – Joburg Super Kings, Pretoria Capitals, Durban’s Super Giants, Sunrisers Eastern Cape, Paarl Royals and MI Cape Town. The SA20 is set to start on January 10th 2023 and will run during that window each year. For more information:

For further information, please contact Lions Cricket media liaison Caroline Malan