JOHANNESBURG:  Cricket South Africa (CSA) today announced the Proteas Men’s contracted squad for the 2023/24 season, starting 01 May. 

Over the next 12 months, the Proteas are set to face Australia at home ahead of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in India. South Africa will then host India for a bilateral tour before finishing the season with an away tour to New Zealand. 

The total of number of national contracts has increased from 16 to 20, with Dafabet Warriors Marco Jansen and Tristan Stubbs, DP World Lions Bjorn Fortuin, Sisanda Magala and Ryan Rickelton all being awarded contracts for the first time.

Heinrich Klaasen earned a contract upgrade during the course of the past season and has been retained for the upcoming season, while Wayne Parnell makes his return to the contracted squad. 

Chief Executive Officer Pholetsi Moseki commented: “We are really excited by the mix of experienced and younger players that have been contracted this season as we continue to build a world-class outfit under the leadership of red and white-ball head coaches Shukri Conrad and Rob Walter.”

Director of Cricket Enoch Nkwe added: “The number of contracted players has increased from 16 to 20 this season to ensure that we have a wider pool of white-ball specialists and Test players.

“We look forward to seeing them compete at the highest level in what is an important next 12 months for the limited-overs and Test sides, with the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup taking place later this year as well as the start of the new World Test Championship cycle.” 

Proteas Men’s Contracted Squad

Temba Bavuma (DP World Lions), Quinton de Kock (Momentum Multiply Titans), Dean Elgar (Momentum Multiply Titans), Bjorn Fortuin, (DP World Lions), Reeza Hendricks (DP World Lions), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Marco Jansen (Dafabet Warriors), Sisanda Magala (DP World Lions), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins),  Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans), David Miller (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Anrich Nortje (Dafabet Warriors), Wayne Parnell (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Keegan Petersen (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Kagiso Rabada (DP World Lions), Ryan Rickelton (DP World Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Tristan Stubbs (Dafabet Warriors), Rassie van der Dussen (DP World Lions). 


Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.