Lions Cricket congratulates all those Pride members nominated for the CSA Awards, set to take place on 7 July 2023.

Johannesburg, 20 June 2023 – In recognition of a super summer, CSA will host its annual awards extravaganza, celebrating the 2022/23 season. Flooded with players from #ThePrideOfJozi, Lions Cricket warmly congratulate their players, coaches and administrators.

This year’s judging panel for the CSA Awards consisted of Ashwell Prince (former Protea), Crystal Arnold (SuperSport presenter and producer), Patrick Moroney (CSA Selector), cricket reporters Firdose Moonda and Khanyiso Tshwaku, and lastly CSA statistician, Andrew Samson.

With no less than 18 nominees, Lions Cricket CEO Jono Leaf-Wright bursts with pride;

“The fact that our nominees are spread throughout the categories, bears testament to our professionally run and passionately driven Union. We believe that irrespective of the level at which you contribute to cricket, it’s an important one and that you are valued, appreciated and undoubtedly world class. A warm congratulations not only to our own Pride members, but to all nominee’s – on behalf of Lions Cricket, we thank you for your unwavering dedication and love of the game.”

The nominee’s from Lions Cricket are:

Professional Awards:

Division 1 Coach of the year: Wandile Gwavu (DP World Lions)

Domestic Newcomer of the season: Evan Jones (DP World Lions)

Division 1 4-Day Domestic Series player of the season: Ryan Rickelton (DP World Lions)

Division 1 One-Day Cup Player of the Season: Sisanda Migala (DP World Lions); Ryan Rickelton (DP World Lions)

The Best Delivery fuelled by KFC: Kagiso Rabada vs Carlos Braithwaite (SA v WI – 1st Test)

SA Fans Player of the Year: Temba Bavuma; Sisanda Magala; Kagiso Rabada

T20 International Player of the Year: Reeza Hendricks

One-Day International Player of the Year: Temba Bavuma

Test Player of the Year: Temba Bavuma; Kagiso Rabada

SA Men’s Player of the Year: Temba Bavuma

Women’s T20 International Player of the Year: Ayabonga Khaka

CSA Pathway Awards:

CSA Blind Cricket Player of the Year: Buhle Bhidla; Siyavuya Mahlikihla 

Kemach Equipment Groundsman of the Year: Brendon Frost (DP World Wanderers Stadium).

Lions Cricket President Anne Vilas commends those nominated, encourages those who fell short, and implores all individuals who strive for such accolades to continue their dedication;

“We are immensely proud of our nominee’s, and equally heartsore for those who missed out. On behalf of my Board, I would like to thank every single Lions Cricket pride member who contributed to a magnificent season for our Union and even our country. To all aspiring individuals: Keep up your devotion of the game, your professionalism and your commitment – because hard work does pay off.”

Should you wish to know more, please visit Lions Cricket on the below platforms: 

Instagram – @lionscricnews 

Facebook – Lions Cricket News 

Twitter – @LionsCricNews

#ThePrideofJozi #LionsCricket

— ENDS —


LIONS CRICKET (Central Gauteng Lions) is the custodian of all cricket activities in the greater Sedibeng, West Rand, Vaal, and Johannesburg area and manages the DP World Wanderers Stadium and DP World Lions. @LionsCricketSA #LionsCricket #ThePrideOfJozi #Equality4All

For further information, please contact Lions Cricket media liaison Caroline Malan (