Johannesburg, 8 March 2024

The DP World Lions Ladies team will stick to basics as they take on the Garden Route Badgers in Johannesburg this weekend.

The Lions were frustrated to have their one-day match against the Dolphins abandoned due to rain, seeing them slip to fifth in the standings, and they then suffered a loss in the T20 format of the game.

But stalwart coach Shaun Pretorius knows our DP World Lions ladies are not far off from winning form: Just one win in the CSA One-Day Cup will lift them back up to third.

“Things didn’t go according to plan in Durban, and there were small things that we will learn from. The only way you’re going to learn those lessons is on the park. I’m quite confident actually that if we stick to the basics and follow our game-plans, then we have got enough ability to win this weekend. There are still good things happening around the team, there’s no stress. If we execute in the right phases of the game, if we get a grip on the game and then hang on to it, then we are capable of a bonus point win which has a massive effect on the log. It’s about handling situations, not overthinking things. We must focus on each delivery now and not look too far ahead… one ball can change the game,” Pretorius said.

Pretorius has been reminding our #ThePrideOfJozi of past successes and epic performances like chasing 250 twice at the DP World Wanderers Stadium in games gone by. But the Pride will be without Chloe Tryon and Shabnim Ismail, who are in India for the IPL, and young stars Karabo Meso and Jenna Evans, who are representing South Africa at the Africa Games in Ghana.

It’s just as well then that the DP World Lions are not about individuals, but the system, and Pretorius backs the squad for this weekend to put their hands up in the key phases of the game including experienced, quality Proteas batters Kirstie Thomson, Sunette Viljoen-Louw and Nonkululeko Thabethe.


1.            Relebohile Mkhize

2.           Raisibe Ntozakhe

3.           Sarah Nettleton

4.           Kirstie Thomson

5.           Ayabonga Khaka

6.           Nonkululeko Thabethe

7.           Kgomotso Rapoo (C)

8.           Sunette Viljoen-Louw

9.           Sinalo Jafta

10.          Diara Ramlakan

11.           Lehlohonolo Meso

12.          Samantha Schutte

13.          Sarah Barber

14.          Tumi Sekhukhune 

15.          Madison Landsman


MARCH 2024
Saturday 910h00CSA Women’s One Day CupDP World LionsGarden Route BadgersDP World Wanderers Stadium
Sunday 1010h00CSA Women’s T20 ChallengeDP World LionsGarden Route BadgersDP World Wanderers Stadium
Saturday 2310h00CSA Women’s One Day CupWestern ProvinceDP World LionsNewlands Cricket Stadium
Sunday 2410h00CSA Women’s T20 ChallengeWestern ProvinceDP World LionsNewlands Cricket Stadium